Vehicles are great tools, and are amazing feats of modern technology. They allow us to travel great distances quickly and with little effort. However, they can also be dangerous if in the wrong hands, or if used improperly. Every state in the United States has its own set of traffic laws; some of these are shared across all states, while others are state-specific. One of the consequences of breaking these laws could be a suspension of your license. If your license gets suspended, you will need to meet various requirements and prove yourself trustworthy and law-abiding before your driving privileges are returned to you. Since these requirements can also vary by state, let’s take a look at what you’ll need to do to reinstate your suspended driver’s license in Virginia.
What you need to know about your suspended driver’s license
First, it is imperative that you understand the reason for your license’s suspension in the first place, as the offense that caused the suspension can also result in different requirements. The exact violation committed can generally be found on either the ticket issued when pulled over by authorities, or the notice that the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) sends you upon suspension. Do not drive with a suspended driver’s license under any circumstances. Doing so will result in your license being revoked, which will require a much lengthier process to reinstate, and can lead to large fines and even jail time.
What you need to do
To reinstate your suspended license, you will first need to pay off any court fees if you’ve gone to court for your violations. You will also need to enroll in SR22 insurance and provide a certificate of authorization for that (in VA, SR22 insurance is required after any offense that results in suspension of your license–a difference between Virginia and other states that may only require it for DUI offenses). You will then need to attend and complete a seminar or clinic on driving improvement in order to re-establish trust behind the wheel and make sure your driving knowledge and skills are where they should be. After this has been completed, you’ll need to pay any applicable licensing and reinstatement fees. Depending on the offense, you may also need to stop by your local DMV in person and provide your full name, mailing address, and documents containing proof of your Virginia residency, and you may also need to retake the initial driving test given to new drivers.
If your offense was a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) offense, you will need to do all of the above, as well as attend the VASAP (Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program) and install what is commonly known as an Ignition Interlock Device onto your vehicle (if you have a single DUI offense, this will only need to be done on the vehicle in which the offense took place; if this is your second or later DUI offense, you will need this on all vehicles you own).
In the state of Virginia, the fees you’ll need to pay to reinstate your license vary based on the offense that caused the suspension. For insurance and railroad violations, the fee is $145. If you’ve driven with a suspended license, or your license got suspended due to any felony that involved your vehicle, the fee is $175. For DUIs or any offense in a commercial vehicle involving alcohol, the fee will be $220. You can either pay these fees online, by mail, or in person by visiting your local DMV. All major credit cards are accepted online, as are e-checks. Checks and money orders are accepted by mail, and all forms of payment, including cash, are accepted in person.